How To Delete Friends On Facebook 2022? Unfollow People On Facebook

Disclosure: Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning that if you click on one of the links and purchase an item, I may receive a commission. All opinions however are my own.

In this blog, I have mentioned how to delete friends on Facebook.

Managing Facebook relationships can be extremely complex and head-scratching. Which friend request to confirm and which to delete is not an easy decision.

Some people can be really annoying with their posts, or there might be some post or information you don’t want to share with your neighbors or colleagues. In short, there can be numerous other reasons to unfriend a person on Facebook.

The best part about unfriending a person on Facebook is that they are not notified. Thus, it is easier to clear out your cluttered friend list and remove the ones you no longer want to be in touch with. With this, the main question that strikes most people is how do you unfriend on Facebook.

Let’s dig deeper into this whole process of how to delete friends on Facebook:

How to Unfriend On Facebook

There are many ways via which you can unfriend a person on Facebook. Let’s take a look at the easiest one:

  1. Go to the person’s Timeline, who you want to unfriend from Facebook.
  2. On the top of the page, just along with his/her name, you will see a Friend’s button. Click on this button. Scroll down to the bottom and select the option ‘Unfriend’.
    unfriend
  3. As soon as you click the button, the person will be unfriended and you will no longer be friends with him on Facebook.

How to Delete Friends On Facebook

The method that has been given above to unfriend someone on Facebook needs to be exercised by opening individual person’s profile, this is time-consuming. In case you are planning a more organized clean-up of your friend list on Facebook, this method on how to delete all friends on Facebook will suit you best.

Take a look at how to delete multiple friends on Facebook:

  1. Go to your profile page and hover over the option Friends. Select this and it will open your friend’s list.
  2. In front of each of your friend’s names, you can see the “Friends” option. Just click it, and a list appears. Simply select the last option of ‘Unfriend’ from the list and you are done.
    delete multiple friends on Facebook
  3. This way you can easily remove multiple friends at once, and that too without wasting much of your time.

Though no notification is sent to the person that you have been unfriended, if someday they wonder that your posts are no longer appearing in their news feed and bothers to check your profile and see the “Add as a friend” option, they can figure it out in a second as to what you have done.

Now, some people might feel offended too. Fortunately, to avoid all the awkwardness Facebook comes with a lot of other options via which your purpose can be solved and even the person will not be offended. Let’s take a look at all such ways:

Adding to Restricted List

Organizing your friends into various lists on Facebook is one of the best ways to maintain privacy and share a certain type of content with certain people only. By default, Facebook creates certain lists for you and out of them, one is the Restricted list.

Basically, by adding a person to the “restricted” list, you can hide things from them that you share with others on Facebook. By adding him or her to your Restricted list you can restrict that person’s access to just your public posts.

  1. Go to the person’s timeline whom you want to add to the restricted list.
  2. Hover over the Friend’s button at the top and scroll down to choose the option “Add to another list.”
    restricted list
  3. There you will find the Restricted list, amongst many other lists that you have created. Simply select it and you are done. You will now see a checkmark next to “Restricted”.restricted list
  4. Now, technically they are your friend on Facebook, but they don’t see the content you share only with friends.

You can even exercise this option, the moment you become friends with someone on Facebook. As soon as you confirm a friend request, just click on the Friends button at the top, and from there simply add that person to the restricted list.

How to Unfollow People On Facebook

Some people can be really annoying with their posts and may tag you in any random posts, thus clogging your Facebook. Now, to deal with such people there is an option “Unfollow”, which is no less than a blessing in disguise.

“Unfollow” someone means that you remain friends with the person but won’t see their posts in your timeline. They’ll still technically be your ‘friend’, but you don’t have to go through their torturous posts on your timeline.

  1. Go on the profile page of the person, whom you want to unfollow.
  2. Just on the top, you will see the following button. Click on it and scroll down to the last option, i.e. Unfollow.
    unfollow people
  3. Select it and you are done. You are no longer following the person, so automatically you won’t see any posts by him in your News Feed.

So with this, you can even avoid unwanted material on Facebook keeping your relationship intact with the person.

Add as an Acquaintance

Now, if you don’t want to completely block the posts by a person and want to view the posts occasionally, this can also be done. All thanks to Facebook. You can simply add that person to the Acquaintance list. By this, the volume of posts from that profile will be reduced in general.

Take a look at how to do the same:

  1. Go to the person’s timeline whom you want to add to the restricted list.
  2. Hover over the Friend’s button at the top and scroll down to choose the option “Add to another list.”
  3. There you will find the option Acquaintances. Simply click on it and you are done.
    Acquaintances

Go ahead and put all those annoying and irritating friends on the “acquaintances” list and limit their knowledge about your personal life.

Conclusion:- How to Delete Friends on Facebook?

Fortunately, there are many ways to get rid of those unwanted and annoying posts and content on Facebook. All these methods on how to delete friends on Facebook are simple to exercise. Just decide who to reap first, then follow any one method listed above and simply avoid the stuff you don’t care about.

Enjoy a pleasant login!

Quick Links

Mack Graham

Mack Graham is a avid reader of new technology. He has a keen interest in advanced tech stuff. He is a die hard fan of Alon Musk. In the free time, you can find him chilling out with friends. Currently He is working as an outreach expert for various companies.

Leave a Comment